3Chicago Heights Public Library
Skip navigation to content
Search the Catalog:

 Hours:

 Mon - Thurs: 10am - 8pm
 Fri: 10am - 5pm
 Sat: 10am - 4pm
 Sun: 1pm - 5pm*
 (*closed summer)


find us on facebook
overdrive ebooks
online resources
Magazines, Newspapers
Journals, Encyclopedias
...and more!


Join Our Email List
Email:  
For Email Marketing you can trust


Book Sale

The Friends of the Library maintains a year round book sale! Stop in and buy a book.

To become a Friend, stop by the front desk and pick up an application.

Chicago Heights Public Library databases can be accessed 24 hours from any computer or device with Internet access. All you need is your library barcode number.

Alldata Collision
Alldata is a comprehensive automotive repair and maintenance database covering most makes and models. In fact, many professionals use it. Unfortunately, we cannot provide this database online; however, you can call or stop by the Reference Desk and a librarian will be happy to look up information for you.
  



AtoZdatabases
AtoZdatabases is a Premier Reference and Marketing database including 30 million business profiles & 220 million residents. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more!



Gale Legal Forms Library
Gale Legal Forms Library Whether for business, personal or litigation purposes, each form is conveniently accessible 24 hours a day and downloadable or printable.  Search state and federal forms in these areas and many others: bankruptcy, divorce, landlord/tenant, name change, power of attorney, real estate, wills & estates.



Gale Reference Center Gold
General Reference Center Gold(R ) , from Gale Cengage Learning, Inc provides 24-hour access to an integrated set of sources: magazines, journals, newspaper articles, children's magazines, almanacs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, reference books, and more. Content includes more than 5,100 titles, of which, more than 3,800 are available in Full-Text. Search on topics ranging from current events, business & industry trends, arts & sciences and about anything inbetween.



Access My Library
Go Mobile! Access all of the information found above in General Reference Center Gold from your smart phone! Apps are available for Android and Apple (iPhone / iPad / iTouch) devices. Search for "Access My Library" in the Android Market or iStore to download... or click here.    



Goodreads link
Goodreads Goodreads is the largest site for readers and book recommendations in the world. It is also a social Web Site. Its kind of like Amazon meets facebook. The Chicago Heights Public Library also has an account, which you can access with the link CHPL Goodreads.



OverDrive Media Center
OverDrive Media on Demand allows anyone with a valid Chicago Heights Library Card to check out a variety of online resources. This includes eBooks, Audiobooks, music, and videos! What's more, you can access them through multiple devices; computers (PC and Mac), smart phones, or audio players. There is no need to return anything, OverDrive keeps track automatically.


Peoplesmart
Peoplesmart offers free phone, email & address lookups to help locate missing people or reconnect with old friends.

* This database can only be used in-house. Please check with the Reference desk for ID and Password information.  



ProQuest Digital Microfilm
ProQuest Digital Microfilm lets you view back-issues of the Chicago Tribune from a computer or internet accessible device.  Although it doesn't offer searching by keyword, you can browse through and print content starting from 2008. Make sure to click on <select> and <Chicago Tribune>.    




Rocket Langueges
Rocket Languages lets you learn languages online at your own pace.  There are a number of languages to choose from; from Spanish to Sign Language.  
  
Esta disponible clases de ingles para Hispano-hablantes tambien! Complete las leciones a si propio ritmo. Inscribase hoy!




Worldcat Icon
WorldCat is an online catalog that lets you search for books, dvds, audio, and other materials at virtually any library in the world.  If you can't find a book or material from our library using the catalog above (top right corner), then you can use WorldCat to find which libraries own it.  If it is at a library within Illinois, let us know and a reference librarian can order it for you.  Outside of Illinois ordering is also possible, but likely requires a small shipping fee.